[Skip to Content]

Enter your firm’s best work in the industry’s only awards program that recognizes design achievement by category and is juried by industry design leaders!

New This Year

A new category, Lobby Repositioning, has been added. “To attract and retain tenants, we are often seeing commercial building lobbies being redesigned and repositioned, with updated interiors that also recognize original details,” says Contract Editor in Chief John Czarnecki. “The new category will acknowledge this project type.”

Eligible Projects

Any interior design project that was occupied or first open for business no earlier than January 1, 2016. Older projects will be disqualified. Previous publication is acceptable.

Final extended deadline is Midnight Eastern, September 22.

Award Categories

Adaptive Reuse
Historic Restoration
Large Office (25,000 square feet and larger)
Lobby Repositioning NEW FOR THIS YEAR
Small Office (up to 25,000 square feet)
Sustainable (Green) Design


You and your client will be honored at the 39th Annual Interiors Awards Breakfast in New York on January 26, 2018. 

Winners are expected to attend.
Your project will also be published in the January 2018 issue of Contract magazine.
Note: Winners will be notified by October 31, 2017. All winners will be required to provide professional-quality, high-resolution electronic project photographs, drawings, renderings, and floor plans. If your project is selected as a winner, you will provide photographs to Contract without fee for use in print, on contractdesign.com, and for use at the 39th Annual Interiors Awards Breakfast.  A completed project source list of products also will be required.

39th Annual Interiors Awards Jury 

The winners will be selected by four jurors who are outstanding architects and designers from across the U.S. with a range of expertise. The jurors are:

Mark Harbick is a studio director at Gertler & Wente Architects in New York. He was Contract magazine’s 2006 Designer of the Year.

Betsy Vohs is CEO and partner of Studio BV in Minneapolis. She started the firm in 2015 after nearly eight years at Gensler.

Phil Weddle is co-founder of Weddle Gilmore Black Rock Studio in Phoenix, which was named AIA Arizona Firm of the Year in 2009.

Kim Yao is a principal of Architecture Research Office (ARO) in New York. ARO received the 2011 Cooper Hewitt National Design Award for Architecture.

How to Enter

The entry will include:

  • Minimum 6 and maximum 12 color photographs. Students can submit renderings.
  • At least one floor plan for professional projects.
  • A brief description of your project (no more than 300 words), including client objectives, design program, square footage, budget, and date of occupancy.
  • Do not reveal your firm's identity in this description. Students will indicate the name of their school.

All entries will be submitted online here. No hard copy entries will be accepted. For built professional projects, entry fees are $275 for the first project submitted, and $225 for each subsequent project. There is no limit to the number of submissions from a given firm.

For students entering work—either current design school students or class of 2017 graduates—the fee is $75 per project.

For questions, email Associate Editor Hayley Arsenault at harsenault@contractdesign.com. Please include the category and the name of the project you are entering.

Enter Now